Book Review: The Last Star by Rick Yancey

16131489

Title: The Last Star by Rick Yancey

Publication Date: May 24, 2016

Genre: Dystopian/ Sci-Fi YA

Rating: 4/5

Synopsis: The enemy is Other. The enemy is us.

They’re down here, they’re up there, they’re nowhere. They want the Earth, they want us to have it. They came to wipe us out, they came to save us.

But beneath these riddles lies one truth: Cassie has been betrayed. So has Ringer. Zombie. Nugget. And all 7.5 billion people who used to live on our planet. Betrayed first by the Others, and now by ourselves.

In these last days, Earth’s remaining survivors will need to decide what’s more important: saving themselves…or saving what makes us human.


Schools out for the summer and I’m back with a review for the book that signals the end of one of my favorite series. I was damn lucky to get a whoopsie early copy (thanks Barnes and Noble for stacking these out about a week early) and have not been able to wait to write this review. I’ve got major thoughts on this one. 


What I liked: I’m not going to spoil the ending, but I will say that everything is not tied up into a nice, neat little bow. Things still mostly suck and I’m okay with that. What I enjoyed most about this series was Yancey’s willingness to play towards reality. People die in war and this was the definition of warfare. Throughout the series he has depicted some brutal deaths and if the ending had come and everything was green grass, lollipops, and cotton candy I would have been pissed. Things still suck. They just happen to suck less. My favorite character in this installment had to be Nugget/ Sam. For the first two books I felt like he was more of a tertiary character rather than a major player in his own right; he was the thing that brought Casey, Ben, and really even Evan together. In this last installment, Yancey really focuses on the effects the apocalypse has had on his development. Sam is at a crucial age and the fact that Yancey not only recognized that but also used it to his advantage speaks volumes towards my love for this series. Sure, not everything that is written can be based in reality–I mean we are talking alien apocalypse here–but the effects of war and the toll it takes is crushingly real, especially in the last book when 90% of the characters we started with are either already dead or heading that way. 

What I didn’t like: Still mega confused. Are there aliens or are these really just humans wiping out the planet. The explanation was extremely difficult for me to grasp. Not sure if I didn’t read closely enough (totally possible since I decided to read the last chapter first and screwed myself mega), if it was meant to be vague, or if I’m just dumb.

Overall, this was a great series and a great finale. Yancey shows that you can tie the story together successfully without everything having to go back to the way it was. The world is still screwed but hopefully are remaining characters will find a way to live in it successfully. 4/5

Leave a Reply

