Review: Map of Fates by Maggie Hall

24481697

Title: Map of Fates by Maggie Hall

Buy Links: Amazon, Barnes and Noble, iBooks

Publication Date: March 8, 2016

Genre: YA

Rating: 5/5

Synopsis: That’s how long it took for Avery West’s ordinary life to change forever: In two weeks, she discovered she was heiress to a powerful secret society known as the Circle, learned her mother was taken hostage by the Circle’s enemies, and fell for a boy she’s not allowed to love, just as she found out another was her unwelcome destiny.

Now, Avery crosses oceans in private jets to hunt for clues that will uncover the truth about the Circle, setting her mom and herself free before it’s too late. By her side are both the boys: Jack—steady, loyal, and determined to help her even at the expense of his own duty—and Stellan, whose connection to Avery grows stronger by the day despite her best intentions, making her question what she believes at every turn.

But at the end of a desperate hunt from the islands of Greece to the red carpet at Cannes comes a discovery that not only changes everything, but could bring the whole world to its knees. And now Avery is forced to face the truth: in the world of the Circle, no one is what they seem.


 

Ugh. WORDS CANNOT DESCRIBE THE AWESOMNESS OF THIS. I mean seriously, this book gave me life. I enjoyed Hall’s first book “The Conspiracy of Us,” well enough, but “Map of Fates,” was phenomenal. 

What I liked: The pacing of this book was extraordinary. One of the major problems I had with the first book was that there was way too much going on and often I found myself totally confused. Hall definitely found her equilibrium in the sequel. There is enough action to keep it interesting, but there is also a great deal of character development. I’m a character driven reader, and Avery had become one of my favorite female characters. In “Map of Fates,” Hall spends more time developing her characters than trying to introduce her conspiracy. Stellan remains my MCM and there’s a water scene between him and Avery that I read over and over again. *Fans self*

What I didn’t like: Dude, I’m still confused. There were some reveals in this sequel that alleviated a large amount of the issues I had with the first book, but some of these reveals still left me fuzzy. There’s also a major death in here (I mean there are several but one is bigger than the others) and it just felt irrelevant to me. I was not a fan.

Overall, this book has everything. Action. Romance. Mystery. Death. You name it Hall uses it and weaves together an amazingly cohesive story. 5/5

Leave a Reply

