Review: Winter by Marissa Meyer

13206900

Title: Winter (The Lunar Chronicles #4) by Marissa Meyer

Publication Date: November 10, 2015

Genre: Sci-Fi/ Re-telling YA

Rating: 5/5

Synopsis: Princess Winter is admired by the Lunar people for her grace and kindness, and despite the scars that mar her face, her beauty is said to be even more breathtaking than that of her stepmother, Queen Levana.

Winter despises her stepmother, and knows Levana won’t approve of her feelings for her childhood friend—the handsome palace guard, Jacin. But Winter isn’t as weak as Levana believes her to be and she’s been undermining her stepmother’s wishes for years. Together with the cyborg mechanic, Cinder, and her allies, Winter might even have the power to launch a revolution and win a war that’s been raging for far too long.

Can Cinder, Scarlet, Cress, and Winter defeat Levana and find their happily ever afters?


 

It’s been a long time since I have been able to post a review here and I have to admit  I have totally missed being able to review. Luckily, I have had the last 5 days off meaning I actually got a chance to read. Yea, this took 5 days. “Winter,” clocks in at 827 pages making it one of the largest YA books. I have been anxiously awaiting this finale installment and I am eager to share my thoughts. So, here we go. 

What I liked: The character of Winter is probably my favorite Lunar Chronicles character. She was completely nuts, but her moments of lucidity were fantastic. I think that Meyer did a great job of balancing her inner-insanity with her shrewd political mind. I imagine she was quite challenging character to write, but Meyer did a wonderful job. This book was wayyy long but the pacing was phenomenal. Every chapter threw our characters into a fresh new torment and the action continuously ramped up. Despite being sci-fi or fantasy, whichever you want to call it, there are some real moments in this book. All of the characters lose something, making it clear that no one is above the effects of war. Our characters and the readers are taken on an epic journey in this finale, which does little to disappoint. 

What I didn’t like: While the pacing was amazing considering that the book is over 800 pages long, sometimes too much was happening. I swear that at every turn our characters were getting captured. By the end I was like, ‘give them a break Meyer.’

Overall, this is a fast-paced, suspenseful thrill-ride that will keep you turning the many pages. Don’t start this one until you have time to finish. 5/5

Leave a Reply

