Review: Royal Wedding (Princess Diaries #11) by Meg Cabot

23215471

Title: Royal Wedding by Meg Cabot

Publication Date: June 2, 2015

Genre: Adult Contemporary

Buy Links: Amazon, Barnes and Noble, iBooks

Rating: 5/5

Synopsis: From the #1 New York Times bestselling author of the Princess Diaries series, comes the very first adult installment, which follows Princess Mia and her Prince Charming as they plan their fairy tale wedding—but a few poisoned apples could turn this happily-ever-after into a royal nightmare.

For Princess Mia, the past five years since college graduation have been a whirlwind of activity, what with living in New York City, running her new teen community center, being madly in love, and attending royal engagements. And speaking of engagements. Mia’s gorgeous longtime boyfriend Michael managed to clear both their schedules just long enough for an exotic (and very private) Caribbean island interlude where he popped the question! Of course Mia didn’t need to consult her diary to know that her answer was a royal oui.

But now Mia has a scandal of majestic proportions to contend with: Her grandmother’s leaked “fake” wedding plans to the press that could cause even normally calm Michael to become a runaway groom. Worse, a scheming politico is trying to force Mia’s father from the throne, all because of a royal secret that could leave Genovia without a monarch. Can Mia prove to everyone—especially herself—that she’s not only ready to wed, but ready to rule as well?


 

I am a huge fan of The Princess Diaries series. I began reading them when they were first published and they spoke to my little pre-teen heart in a way that no other contemporary has managed. It helps that I am absolutely obsessed with the idea of royalty and continue to wait for my ‘real’ parents to come and tell me I’m actually a Princess. Until then, I’ll eagerly read all about ‘fake’ and real royals. 


 

What I liked: Mia’s voice is the same! I really worried that because she was now an adult in her late 20’s some of Mia’s crazed pop-culture related rants would cease to exist, instead replaced by more practical freak-outs. I was so glad and relieved to see that she remained crazy as ever. As someone who thinks very similarly to Mia–on the dramatic, soap opera, anxiety filled side of life–reading her journal is like catching up with an old friend. The main cast is the same and even raunchier than before. TINA AND LILY FOR LIFE! I imagine being a Princess is super hard when you can’t be sure who likes you for your dazzling personality, or for your wonderful palaces, so I’m glad to see that while time has made these characters more raunchy, they are still at Mia’s side ready to jump in with some crisis control. Obviously, I love the romance between Michael and Mia–I mean hello, it was totally swoonworthly, especially for the former thirteen year old in me; however, what I loved the most is how Mia has embraced being a Princess. Sure, she still complains of being followed by the paparazzi, and is not happy about her fluctuating rank of “Rate the Royals,” but ultimately she’s trying to use her role to do some good in the world–seems like she’s succeeding.

What I didn’t like: I feel like I missed some backstories. Perhaps, I just can’t remember all the plot point–I read these books a long freaking time ago! Also, despite the title, we basically see nothing from the actual wedding. Sad face.

Overall, reading this was like catching up with an old, wonderful friend–if that friend is basically the spazzier, book version of the Duchess of Cambridge--5/5

Leave a Reply

