Top Ten Tuesday: 10 Fairytale Retellings I Like/Want to See

10

 

I’m baaaack. I’ve missed the last few Top Ten Tuesdays as hosted by The Broke and Bookish this summer has been beyond hectic and blogging has taken a back seat to my million other responsibilities. But now I’m back and ready to jump on this topic. I couldn’t decide if I wanted to focus on the retellings I like, or just the ones I want to see, so instead I’m going to do both. It’s my blog I’ll do what I want. 


 

1. A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas: I just read this one and I am now obsessed. A retelling of ‘Beauty and the Beast’ my favorite Disney cartoon was great. Making it hella steamy. Yes please, more, more, more.

2. Ella Enchanted by Gail Carson Levine: Possibly one of my favorite books of all time, this Cinderella re-telling is a fantastic book. Even though it’s middle grade, it’s one of those books that stands the test of time.

3. Cinder by Marissa Meyer: What I love about this retelling is that it is so original. Cinder is not the type of retelling that just skews the original, it actually creates a new story from the existing. Cinderella is a cyborg Princess in a new China.

. 4. Grimm Tales: Wendy Higgins is releasing a book about the Grimm tales which I haven’t read but I am super excited about this one. These tales are dark and amazing for YA.

5. Splintered by A.G. Howard: This is a funky retelling of Alice in Wonderland which got me hooked on Alice retellings. Surprisingly, there are a lot out there and not all of them good.

6. The Collectors’ Society by Heather Lyons: Speaking of Alice in Wonderland…this is an AMAZING retelling. Alice is a kickass Queen traipsing around with other storybooks characters. The English nerd in me wants to die and go to nerd heaven whenever I read this.

7. Robin Hood: There are a ton of amazing Robin Hood TV shows out there and the tv series/comicbook Arrow is kind of a retelling of that, but no good books. I mean Marian and Robin have an amazing love story.

8. Camelot: So technically I guess this is not a fairytale but I would love to see a new YA playing with King Arthur’s court. Yes, I know Meg Cabot wrote one but the Disney movie totally killed it for me.

9. Swan Princess: Has anyone seen this movie? How would this make a bad book. Do any currently exist?

10. Snow White: I’d like to see a gritty version of this one a la ‘A Court of Thorns and Roses.’ Maybe Snow is a witch being hunted for her magic…these are things I think about.

What fairytales do you guys want to see? Any good retellings I am missing? 

2 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: 10 Fairytale Retellings I Like/Want to See

Leave a Reply

