Review: Daughter of Deep Silence by Carrie Ryan

23281652

Title: Daughter of Deep Silence by Carrie Ryan

Buy Links: Amazon, Barnes and Noble, IBooks

Publication Date: May 26, 2015

Genre: YA Thriller

Rating: 3.5/5

Synopsis: In the wake of the devastating destruction of the luxury yacht Persephone, just three souls remain to tell its story—and two of them are lying. Only Frances Mace knows the terrifying truth, and she’ll stop at nothing to avenge the murders of everyone she held dear. Even if it means taking down the boy she loves and possibly losing herself in the process.

Sharp and incisive, Daughter of Deep Silence by bestselling author Carrie Ryan is a deliciously smart revenge thriller that examines perceptions of identity, love, and the lengths to which one girl is willing to go when she thinks she has nothing to lose.


 

The blurb had me. I’ve been dying to read this book since I first learned of it, after all it was marketed as a Revenge type plot, and that show used to be my jam. YA thrillers really excite me and when you add a romantic element in you can pretty much guarantee it’ll be something I’ll read. This book definitely kept my attention, even if it veered off into silly land every now and again. Let’s break it down.

What I liked: The whole concept is very interesting. After a tragedy, Frances Mace assumes the identity of a girl who became her friend on a family vacation gone terribly wrong. This is an interesting enough concept, but as Ryan begins to explore the psychological toll the split identity has on Frances, I found myself drawn further into a world colored in shades of Grey. New pseudo-Frances is not an easy character to like, but she’s also difficult for the reader to write off. Her motives are pure but she’s so complicated that she’s willing to kill innocent people in her search for justice. More than once I found myself contemplating what lengths I would go to should someone harm those I love. Ryan does not shy away from effects, both psychological and physical, that the slaughter aboard the Persephone has on Frances and frankly that exploration kept me constantly engaged, page after page.

What I didn’t like: There were a lot of cliches. A lot. Does not necessarily make this a bad book, but certain parts were difficult to enjoy. For example, Frances very easily gives into the affects of her first love Grey, absolving him of guilt and wrong doing, and in the end Ryan casts him in the role of White Knight. I would have been find if Frances cut him off at the knees in her quest for answers. Speaking of the answers…huh. I mean if I want to get existential here I could wax poetic about Ryan examining how sometimes the greatest tragedies occur because of human sin, but really I wanted a greater reason. Frankly, I did not understand the whole ending, maybe that was just me.

Overall, if you are a fan of Revenge plots, romantic tension, and general turmoil, you’ll love this book. It’s a strong piece that examines some very poignant ideas 3.5/5

Leave a Reply

