Review: Trust Me, I’m Lying by Mary Elizabeth Summer

17341550

Title: Trust Me, I’m Lying by Mary Elizabeth Summer

Buy Links: Amazon, Barnes and Noble, iBooks

Publication date: October 14, 2014

Rating: 2.5/5

Synopsis: Julep Dupree tells lies. A lot of them. She’s a con artist, a master of disguise, and a sophomore at Chicago’s swanky St. Agatha High, where her father, an old-school grifter with a weakness for the ponies, sends her to so she can learn to mingle with the upper crust. For extra spending money Julep doesn’t rely on her dad—she runs petty scams for her classmates while dodging the dean of students and maintaining an A+ (okay, A-) average.

But when she comes home one day to a ransacked apartment and her father gone, Julep’s carefully laid plans for an expenses-paid golden ticket to Yale start to unravel. Even with help from St. Agatha’s resident Prince Charming, Tyler Richland, and her loyal hacker sidekick, Sam, Julep struggles to trace her dad’s trail of clues through a maze of creepy stalkers, hit attempts, family secrets, and worse, the threat of foster care. With everything she has at stake, Julep’s in way over her head . . . but that’s not going to stop her from using every trick in the book to find her dad before his mark finds her. Because that would be criminal.


 

“Trust Me, I’m Lying,” by Mary Elizabeth Summer, has been on my TBR list since last year. I love YA novels with a crime mystery elements and the description on this one seemed to be right up my alley. I mean a female con-artist, a mysterious disappearance, and a little romance–heck yes! My excitement was uncontrollable, so when I finally got my hands on this, I read it in under a day. While, it had its strong aspects there were certain areas that fell flat for me.

What I liked: Julep was a wonderful female character. She reminded me of Veronica Mars, with the snark and over-the-top smarts. Her ability to spin a tale is what kept me reading. Frankly, I wanted to see how all her schemes would blow up in her face, because you can’t build the kind of empire she did without it crashing on your head. All the drama was incredible. Usually, I don’t like endings, they have a tendency to let me down; however, I adored the ending of this book. Not only does the author do a wonderful job of wrapping up the remaining stories, but not everyone gets a happy ending. The ending is realistic enough to be satisfying but also retains the kind of whimsy associated with this kind of off the wall story.

What I didn’t like: There is a major death that I have a major issue with. Nothing about this character’s death felt necessary to me, in fact, it felt like a shock factor method. Nothing I hate more than getting emotionally involved with a characters, only for them to get a bullet to the head. Aside from that I didn’t have any major issues with this book, it just felt really boring at times. I was expecting a faster pace, more action, and more clues to uncover. Instead, there’s one mystery that only gets marginally explained, the bad guy is just a bad guy, and the betrayal appeared very surface level.

Overall, this was a decent enough book but I felt it was mostly hyped up. 2.5/5

Leave a Reply

