Top Ten Tuesday: Books I Would Love to See as a Movie/TV Series

10

 

Hello there readers, and welcome back for another Top Ten Tuesday as hosted by The Broke and Bookish. This weeks topic seems ever so timely since we have recently (kind of) received news that Cassandra Clare’s Mortal Instruments series is being made into a TV series called Shadowhunters. Hopefully, this does better than the movie, which bombed before a sequel could be made. I love when my favorite novels become movies, or TV series. Frankly, I prefer the TV format since I feel like there is much more room to explore, but in general, I love seeing these stories brought to screen. Some people feel like the movie/tv format ruins the story, but I think it is just another medium in which to enjoy something you already love. Does it always turn out well (no, have we  seen Vampire Academy?) is it usually still enjoyable (yes, again VA). Without further ado, my list: 


 

1. Rebel Belle series by Rachel Hawkins: Everything about this book screams TV series. I’m thinking Gossip Girl, meets Hart of Dixie, meets Buffy. Great clothes, strong female, Southern Debutantes, and of course, weaponry. Can The CW pick this one up? 

2. The Witch Hunter by Virginia Boecker: I think this would make a great movie. I feel like it has the right pacing to be in that shorter kind of format, and a movie would have a larger budget so we’d really get the whole Medieval magic feel.

3. The Collector’s Society by Heather Lyons: TV series on cable, cause there are some definite sexy times not suitable for children. This is such a fantastic series and it really deserves to be loved on a larger scale. I could see it being a new villain every week type of show, with an overarching big baddies–kind of like an early Supernatural.

4. The Conspiracy of Us by Maggie Hall: Another one I think would be great for a network like The CW. No idea how they could afford all the “travel” locations that the characters do, but I would totally love to see a series like this. Prada stores where people get knifed–that makes some good TV.

5. The Winner’s Curse by Marie Rutkoski: Love, love, love this book and could totally imagine it on TV. It’s got a Game of Thrones feel minus the 20 billion characters and gratuitous sex. The love story between Kestrel and Arin would make for a compelling saga.

6. The Body Finder Series by Kimberly Derting: I will never stop hoping they make this a TV series. It’s a perfect format for a great mystery. Come one TV people.

7. The Infernal Devices Series by Cassandra Clare: In my humble opinion this series is much better than The Mortal Instruments. Plus, it is set in Victorian England. Can we change Shadownhunters to Infernal Devices? Please.

8. The Arcana Chronicles by Kresely Cole: In case you can’t tell I like my TV with lot’s of magic, fighting, and some romance thrown into the mix.

9. Bloodines Series by Richelle Mead: The Vampire Academy movie was so, so bad, yet somehow I was way into it. It’s almost like it knew it was bad and made the best of it anyway. That being said, I’d like to see what could be done with Bloodlines as a TV series, or even a movie. They were some darn good swooney books. Plus, I feel like they were easier on the backstory than Vampire Academy.

10. Old Magic by Marianne Curley: One of my all time favorite books and I think it would lend itself to a great movie. There’s enough going on but not so much that very important stuff would be swallowed by the edits.

 

So there’s my list for this week. Maybe some of these books are already in the works. What are you guys thinking? 

 

Leave a Reply

