Review: Dream a Little Dream by Kersten Gier

21469090

Title: Dream a Little Dream (Book one Silver Trilogy) by Kersten Gier

Publication Date: April 14th, 2015

Genre: YA Paranormal

Buy Links: Barnes and Noble; Amazon

Rating: 3/5

Synopsis: Mysterious doors with lizard-head knobs. Talking stone statues. A crazy girl with a hatchet. Yes, Liv’s dreams have been pretty weird lately. Especially the one where she’s in a graveyard at night, watching four boys conduct dark magic rituals.

The strangest part is that Liv recognizes the boys in her dream. They’re classmates from her new school in London, the school where she’s starting over because her mom has moved them to a new country (again). But what’s really scaring Liv is that the dream boys seem to know things about her in real life, things they couldn’t possibly know–unless they actually are in her dreams? Luckily, Liv never could resist a good mystery, and all four of those boys are pretty cute.


 

I’m a big fan of Gier’s previous series The Ruby Red Trilogy, so I was excited to pick up a new title from her. After reading the book, I have to say that I have a lot of mixed emotions. On to the review: 

 

What I liked: As usual the writing was phenomenal. Gier really makes a tremendous effort to describe her world, which is particularly apparent when she describes the different dreamscapes that our main character Liv encounters. The idea of the dreamscapes is also interested and Gier does a great job of exploring the morality behind going into peoples dreams, which I appreciates.  For me the standout character was Liv’s little sister Mia. She brought the humor and sass and I loved her for it. There’s a particularly fun scene where she throws an apple at her her sister for being so dopey in love. I appreciated the levity she brought to the situation. 

What I meh-ed on: So there wasn’t anything I out and out disliked, but it was difficult for me to absolutely love certain things. I felt like this book had a lot of cliches. Liv is a gawky fifteen year old girl, who of course is somehow oblivious to the fact that all the boys are into her…I wanted to like Liv more but she just felt so blah. There really was not much about her that stood out for me. The boys were also very cliche. All beautiful, English, and well-off. Thrown in a little bad-boy danger and we’ve got our group. Normally, I wouldn’t mind so much cliche, but the premise of the book was so original that I felt like the multiple cliche’s really did the book a disservice and detracted from my initial interest.

Overall, I enjoyed the book well enough. I thought the writing and the story itself were really strong; however, I felt like there were a lot of typical YA cliche’s that detracted from the book. 3/5

Leave a Reply

