Review: The Sin Eater’s Daughter by Melinda Salisbury

517qzv8wvZL._SY344_BO1,204,203,200_

Title: The Sin Eater’s Daughter by Melinda Salisbury

Buy Links: Amazon; Barnes and Noble

Publication date: March 1st, 2015

Genre: Fantasy YA

Rating: 4/5

Synopsis: I am the perfect weapon. I kill with a single touch.
Twylla is blessed. The Gods have chosen her to marry a prince, and rule the kingdom. But the favour of the Gods has it’s price. A deadly poison infuses her skin. Those who anger the queen must die under Twylla’s fatal touch.
Only Lief, an outspoken new guard, can see past Twylla’s chilling role to the girls she truly is.Yet in a court as dangerous and the queen’s, some truths should not be told..


Gosh, finding time to read these past two months has been like finding a freaking unicorn. Pointless and frustrating. I feel like every time I sit myself down to really get into a book, I have to get my but up again. Needless to say, if a book does not have a strong opener than I don’t have the time or energy to engage. While looking for something interesting, I came across “The Sin Eater’s Daughter.” Intrigued, I decided to give it ago and I am very glad I did. This book was intriguing and very fast-paced, a great read if you are looking for a quick fantasy number. 

What I liked: I found the world that Salisbury created to be very intriguing. I’ve seen the myth of the Sin Eater and was intrigued by what this book was going to look like. Well, let me tell you, it was nothing like I thought it would be; I expected something very heavily involved in the Sin Eater myth, instead Salisbury takes the myth and makes it her own. Salisbury’s world is intriguing because it’s like nothing you have ever seen before. All of my expectations were turned upside down, and I very much enjoyed that. Outside of that, I loved the relationship the main character Twylla had with both of her love interests. Twylla, like a lot of YA heroines, found pieces of her own personality through her interaction with her main love interest, Lief; however, at the end, Twylla finally discovers that it’s up to her to save these men, not for them to save her. I think the relationship gave a good, strong message. 

What I didn’t like: As per usual, I hated the ending. Like I really, really hated it. I mean things just start to really heat up and then it ends.

Overall, I felt this was a strong example of a YA fantasy number. It moved quickly, had great mythology, and a great love triangle.

 

Leave a Reply

