Review: Miss Mayhem by Rachel Hawkins

22465605

Title: Miss Mayhem by Rachel Hawkins

Publication Date: April 7, 2015

Buy Links: Amazon, Barnes and Noble, iBooks

Rating: 3/5

Synopsis: Life is almost back to normal for Harper Price. The Ephors have been silent after their deadly attack at Cotillion months ago, and best friend Bee has returned after a mysterious disappearance. Now Harper can return her focus to the important things in life: school, canoodling with David, her nemesis-turned-ward-slash-boyfie, and even competing in the Miss Pine Grove pageant.

Unfortunately, supernatural chores are never done. The Ephors have decided they’d rather train David than kill him. The catch: Harper has to come along for the ride, but she can’t stay David’s Paladin unless she undergoes an an ancient trial that will either kill her . . . or make her more powerful than ever.


 

Guys, it has been too long! Life has been beyond hectic. In fact, Miss Mayhem could have been my name lately. I’m so excited to get back to the blog and break my week long dry spell with one of my highly-anticipated Spring reads, Miss Mayhem by Rachel Hawkins. 

What I liked: I love Rachel Hawkins voice as Harper. She’s southern, sassy, and absolutely hysterical. Harper is full of contradictions and one of my favorite female characters of all time. The thing that I love about this series is that this time the girl kicks butt and the boy needs saving. Way to turn the YA formula on it’s head. Outside of the awesomeness of Harper, I loved that the sequel began to explore Harper, Ryan, Bee, and David’s new roles. In the sequel we aren’t trying to solve the “what-am I/how do I cope mystery. This time we explore how these new roles and responsibilities fit into the gangs “real lives.” Lot’s and lot’s of turmoil. 

What I didn’t like: I didn’t feel like Harper had a ton of interactions with the other characters, especially David. Miss Mayhem felt very short and David and Harper’s relationship was barely explored, yet strangely enough it’s the center of the story. Speaking of the story, it moved kind of slow for my liking. I wish it had, had more action. There was a whole trial story line which could have been extremely strong and interesting, but mid-way through that fell to pieces. I guess I mostly just felt a little confused by the sequel. Then when you add in the ending…ugh.

Overall, the books best feature really is it’s main character, but for me, the sequel fell kind of flat 3/5.

Leave a Reply

