Throwback Thursday: Unspoken by Sarah Rees Brennan (The Lynburn Legacy Book #1)

10866624

Title: Unspoken by Sarah Rees Brennan

Buy Links: Amazon

Publication Date: September 10, 2013

Genre: YA Paranormal/ Romance

Rating: 3/5 

Synopsis (from ma’ head): Kami lives in a small English town that holds big secrets. Kami is an intrepid reporter type and therefore wants to uncover these secrets. Also, she speaks to a potential fake boy in her head. Boy isn’t fake and is actually a Lynburn, who are like freaky people who the town fears. Kami and the boy have a potential thing, but it’s weird living in each others minds. Also, there is murder.


So, it’s been a few weeks since I have done a Throwback Thursday post and frankly I blame many things. Mostly, I’m behind on my reading. Spring tends to get hectic for me. My students are wrapping up their school year, so tests/ projects abound. Plus, I’m doing some editing on my own work and trying to clean my apartment. Basically, things are happening. That being said, I was really excited to start this series. The author was new to me but I stumbled across her in a trip to the library and decided I needed to get on this, asap. It proved to be a slow start, but eventually the book captured me. It’s the first in a trilogy and I’m excited to continue reading. 

What I liked: I was really into the whole ‘people living in each other’s heads thing,‘ which is weird but whatever. I thought the way it was handled was actually very smart. Kami was incredibly pragmatic about the whole situation, even when Jared wanted to get her on the guilt train. (That’ll make more sense if you read the book). Either way, I liked that the author explored the idea that you can love someone and also realize that maybe being in a relationship with them is not the best decision. Granted, there are some erroneous circumstances, but still it was handled very well and I loved that. Outside of the whole mind thing, I also loved the diversity of the characters. Kami is 1/4 (?) Japanese, there is a character who comes out as a lesbian, and sorcerers! But really, it’s nice to see diverse characters done in a way where we aren’t just throwing random things in the mix. 

What I didn’t like: In the beginning, Kami irked the crap out of me. She did not seem like a real person, but more like a caricature of a person. By the end, I grew to like her but it was a rough start. Outside of that, I did not feel like enough was explained. Boom, sorcerers! Boom murder! WHERE ARE MY EXPLANATIONS. I’m assuming I get them in books 2-3, but I like explanations, they keep me coming back.

Overall, I enjoyed the book. I struggled through the first half, but once action picked up I found engaged with the characters. 3/5 

Have any of you guys read this book? What are your thoughts?

Leave a Reply

