Top Ten Tuesday: Books from My Childhood

10

 

 

 

So this is my first time doing a Top Ten Tuesday, as hosted by The Broke and Bookish. This week’s theme is Top 10 Books to revisit from childhood. I’m super pumped about this one, since I was literally just talking to someone about the change in YA from when I was a teen, till now. So onto the list….

 

sweet-valley-high-book-cover

1. Sweet Valley High by Francine Pascal aka the books that sustained me. Sweet Valley High made being a teen seem cool and dramatic, which I soon learned it wasn’t but they were just awesome. I didn’t read the grown-up version that came out a few years ago, but I would love to find some of these around and revisit.

2. Harry Potter by J.K. Rowling. I think this one speaks for itself. Whenever I get stressed I grab an HP book and travel back to Hogwarts.

 

71+rJZI5hLL

3. Hex Hall by Rachel Hawkins. Recently, I met Rachel Hawkins and her infectiously funny personality reminded me that I need to grab this one again.

4. Grimm Fairy Tales. This may be a weird one but the Grimm brother’s always knew how to spark my imagination. Now, as a writer, I love reconnecting with their slightly (a lot) disturbing characters.

 

305234

 

5. Wicked Lovely, by Melissa Marr. I was on the tail end of my “childhood,” for this one, but I’m counting it. First and only time I’ve read a book about fairy’s and not wanted to throw it. Plus, with a movie coming out sometime in the future, this definitely warrants a revisit.

6. Gossip Girl, by Cecily Von Ziegesar. So trashy. So good.

51197EmrHcL._SY344_BO1,204,203,200_

7. Anything V.C. Andrews Clearly, my parent’s did not monitor my reading habits–God Bless them for that. Love these books; original soap opera romances.

8. The Princess Diaries, by Meg Cabot. Yes, Yes, Yes. I cannot wait to revisit these with the whole royal wedding book coming out. Being told I’m actually a Princess, is my life-long dream.

 

n15780

9. Anything by Lois Duncan. She was the original writer of teen thrillers and these books were beyond convoluted. To this day, Lois Duncan remains an all-time favorite for her ability to make my heart race.

10. Daughter’s of The Moon, by Lynn Ewing. Teen me LOVED this series. Unfortunately, I kind of aged out of it and missed the last two books. I’m going to have to grab those off Amazon and find out how it ended.

41C25162LXL._SY344_BO1,204,203,200_

So that concludes my list. What books do you want to revisit? 

 

 

6 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Books from My Childhood

  1. I listed Flowers in the Attic as well. I think it was the start of my fascination with books that are slightly disturbing and emotionally distressing.

    • Thank you! I loved Lois Duncan growing up (still do). If you have not read them, her non-fiction books about her daughter are really good too, sad, but very intriguing.

    • Thanks for stopping by, so glad to see you found some similarities. I actually met Rachel Hawkins recently and she’s hilarious. Made me love Hex Hall even more!

Leave a Reply

