Review: The Third Twin by C.J. Omololu

ttw

Title: The Third Twin by C.J. Omololu

Publication Date: February 24th, 2015

Publisher: Delacorte Press

Buy Links: Amazon, Barnes and Noble

Rating: 4/5 stars

This ARC was provided by Random House via NetGalley

Synopsis: Alexa (Lexi) and Ava Rios are twin who were adopted as infants. Like most twins, they could not be more different. Lexi is the responsible, straight-A student, set on going to Stanford, while Ava is wild and boy-crazy. Ava and Lexi have been making up their imaginary third triplet, Alicia, since they were little-girls. She’s a harmless accessory to their antics, a way to meet boys with no consequences. Only now, someone is killing all of Alicia’s dates and framing the girls for it (whoops). What was once fun is now deadly as Lexi and Ava begin to wonder whose following Alicia’s every move.

 


 

So if you pick this book up for the tagline “Pretty Little Liars meets Revenge” put away those assumptions. Sure, there are certain parts that are similar to Pretty Little Liars, but I’m not sure where they are getting the Revenge piece. This book was a great read and while it had similarities to Pretty Little Liars, I think comparing it too heavily does it a great disservice. I would say that if you are a fan of mystery thrillers with a little romance mixed in than you’ll probably enjoy this one. 

What I liked: Anyone whose read one of my reviews knows I love a good character driven story. I can’t really engage in a book unless I am also engaged with it’s characters. Lucky for me, I felt drawn to Lexi (whose POV the book is told from). She was smart and witty, but also insecure enough that some of the decisions she was making made total sense. Her need to please the people around her, especially her Dad was something I found to be realistic and engaging. The dynamic that she has with her sister Ava goes beyond the usual “twin” thing and I liked that Omololu specifically stated that they don’t have some kind of crazy psychic connection. Outside of Lexi, the plot is incredibly engaging. I could barely put it down because I needed to find out what happened next. I’m a big lover of thrillers and mystery genres and the pace of this one was perfect. You get to know the characters while still trying to work through the mystery. It was engaging without making every second of the plot centered around the “who done it.”

What I Didn’t Like: The ending. Hands down I was not a fan of it. The entire lead up did not make sense in the context in which the book ends. While I’m usually a fan of the twists and turns, I just felt like the twist here made little sense.

Overall, despite the ending, I really engaged with the book. The writing was flawless and Lexi captured my attention. It would be a 5/5 for me if only the ending made more sense, but it’s still a 4/5.

Leave a Reply

