Throwback Thursday Review: Evertrue by Brodi Ashton

evertrue front cover

Title: Evertrue by Brodi Ashton

Publication Date: January 21, 2014

Buy Links: Amazon, Barnes and Noble

Rating: 3/5

Synopsis: Once again Nikki is in deep Everneath crap because of Cole. Not only is she missing her heart, but turns out she needs to feed on him to survive to even begin her transition into an Everliving. Naturally, her and Jack have a plan to stop all this, and also naturally it’s almost thwarted by Cole.


 

Once again, this has been sitting on my shelf for over a year. Not because I didn’t want to read it, but because I didn’t want to say goodbye to the world that Brodi Ashton had created. I had a major love crush on Cole and we all knew this was not going to end well for him. Needless to say, I had mixed feelings on this one. 

What I liked: I love how every plan this group has just goes to crap in some way or another. I mean Ashton really makes them work for those small victories and I totally love that about this series. No one is a hero, everyone’s getting their butt handed to them like 24/7. I get a little evil thrill about that one. I’m also enchanted by the world of the Everneath. It’s got so many rules and somehow Ashton made sense of all of them and kept them on track. There’s nothing I hate more than trying to make my way through a world that makes zero sense, it’s frustrating and distracting. I think the thing I enjoyed the most was that we finally got to learn a little more about Cole’s background. It explained a lot of his motivations and really cemented a connection between him and Nikki.

What I didn’t like: The ending killed me. I mean I get it, I knew it was coming in some for or another, but still…sad.

Overall, I felt like this was a solid ending to a much beloved series. I’m sad it’s over, I’m sad it didn’t end the way I wanted, but everything made sense in the context of the other two books so I’m also very pleased.

Leave a Reply

