Review: The Ruby Circle by Richelle Mead

8709528

Title: The Ruby Circle (A Bloodlines Novel)by Richelle Mead

Buy Links: Amazon, Barnes and Noble, Book Depository 

Publication Date: February 10, 2014

Rating: 5/5

Synopsis: The Ruby Circle, is the final book in Mead’s Bloodlines series and picks up almost directly after Silver Shadows. Everyone is trying to adjust to Adrian and Sydney being married, including them, while trying to find Jill. Because this is the world of Moroi, dhampirs, witches, and a host of other supernatural creatures, nothing is ever east. Sydney, Adrian, and the gang are in a race against time to bring back Jill will trying to avoid The Alchemists, deal with some unexpected complications, and keep themselves sane.


Gosh, I feel like this is the end of an era. I absolutely love the world that Mead created in her first series and am so sad to see it go in this final installment. This book gave me so many feels. I finished it in less than a day and while I wish I’d spent more time savoring it, but I couldn’t put it down. I stopped myself from reading any early reviews, but I’m curious to see how other fans will react to the book. I really enjoyed it, but just talking with friends, I know some people feel like things are open ended (possibly for more spin-offs?) I’ve read a few interviews and know Mead is not currently planning anything, which I’m actually happy about. I’ll miss this world and it’s characters but the ending felt natural and I don’t know if I could get as invested in a spin-off of a spin-off. 

What I liked: These character’s have been through so much and as a reader it was great to see them all come together for this type of “last stand” situation. I’ll be the first to point out that I didn’t feel like the stakes were as high in this last book as they’ve been in previous ones, but I loved how Mead brought in some of our favorite characters from Vampire Academy and put them in the mix. She made sure not to overshadow the characters the Bloodlines series are ultimately centered around, but it was a nice little head-tip to readers. My favorite part of the entire book was the ending. I’d love to espouse upon all the nuances here that made the ending just fantastic but I don’t want to give anyone any spoilers. Let’s just say that Mead ties the series off while still maintaining an air of mystery. I always worry when I get to a ‘last book,’ that things will be left hanging, but I’m glad Mead wrapped this up for us. This book just has so many “feel” moments. It was touching and heart-wrenching at the same time and people who’ve already read this will know exactly why and what I’m referring to when I talk about “the feel.”

What I didn’t like: I needed more Adrian/Sydney love. I didn’t feel like it was the focal point of this book and that upset me. Also, Jill was pretty much non-existent which made me fell bad for the lovers or her and Eddie.

Overall, this was a great send off to the VA world. I’ll miss all my characters but since almost everyone got a happy ending I can chillax–for now.

Leave a Reply

