Throwback Thursday: Review, Scarlet by Marissa Meyer

Title: Scarlet (The Lunar Chronicles Book 2) by Marissa Meyer

Publication Date: February 5th, 2013

Buy Links: Amazon, Barnes and Noble

Synopsis: Scarlet, a girl from the French provinces is doing everything she can to keep her farm afloat after the disappearance of her grandmother, including, trying to find said grandmother. Enter Wolf, a mysterious street-fighter who could be good or could be bad. He agrees to help her find her grandmother even if it costs him his freedom. Intersect this will Cinder (main character from The Lunar Chronicles Book 1) trying to escape imprisonment and find a way to defeat the Lunar Queen who wants her dead. Basically, there’s a lot going on.

 

Okay, so I know this book came out like 2 years ago, but a lot of times it can take me a second to read something. I bought this last Spring after Marissa Meyer came to my local bookstore “Politics and Prose.” I decided to FINALLY read this a few weeks ago when I was in a funk and needed something to cheer myself up. I like to keep favorite authors around in times of need and I really like the futuristic aspects of Meyer’s books. She’s got enough action to make it exciting and enough romance to keep me interested. I’ve been a little light on my reading lately so I figured I’d start a new segment here called “Throwback Thursday” where I review books that are over a year old but no less amazing. Plus, it keeps me off the hook on weeks when I can’t get to my newer stuff 🙂

 

What I liked: I actually liked Scarlet better than I liked Cinder. There, I said it. She had her moments but Cinder was a little melodramatic for my tastes, guess that comes with the territory. Scarlet carries a gun, kicks the crap out of people, and generally does not take no bullshit–I liked it! I also liked that we still get to interact with Cinder’s story. I’m usually not big on books that don’t follow the same characters into the sequels, but I actually was interested in how Meyer’s concocted her story. It’s like she is introducing new characters in her world, just over the span of giving them their own book. It’s clever and it also makes me want to read the next books because I fell so hard for these characters.

What I didn’t like: While I enjoyed the switching POVs I sometimes found myself rushing through the slower parts. It was hard to be in the middle of an action sequence in one chapter only to have to switch it up and go into a monologue. It messed with my pacing and began to feel drawn out.

 

Overall, I loved Scarlet and definitely need to get my butt to reading Cress. 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

