Review: Dead of Winter by Kresley Cole

18746546

 

Title: Dead of Winter by Kresely Cole

Buy Links: Amazon, Barnes and Noble, Book Despository

Rating: 5/5 

The Arcana Chronicles is one of my favorite YA series and I’ve been anxiously awaiting the next installment to come out and let’s just say Cole did not disappoint. This series has everything you could want; action, adventure, magic, and a hot/hot/hot love triangle. I started this series really wanting Evie to be with Jack, but this book really cemented my love of Aric aka Death.

Synopsis: Evie has escaped Death, kind of, and is heading back to save Jack from The Lovers. Turns out, that’s only half the battle. The true battle comes when Death and Jack force Evie to chose who she wants to spend the rest of her days.

What I liked: If I saw everything is that a good review? Probably not, so I’ll stick to just the things I adored and even then there are a lot of things that I loved. This is the third installment in the Arcana Chronicles but unlike some series there doesn’t seem to be any slowing down as this story progresses. From start to finish this book is chocked full of action and this time it focuses almost solely on Jack, Evie, and Aric. I love how Cole is able to create such an action packed story line while also creating very intense and well rounded characters. Speaking of characters, this installment focuses on the love triangle between Evie, Jack, and Aric, so naturally we have a lot of steaminess. When I first began the story I was totally devoted to Jack and Evie. Hot Cajun boy, yyellooo. But, suddenly this weird thing happened where, like Evie, I totally fell for Aric (aka Death). Cole really played with my emotions on this one. Jack vs. Aric has never been harder, but I came out on the side of Aric. He’s got that broody, tortured thing going for him and he hooked me. You’ll have to read the book to see how that whole thing turns out for Evie.

What I didn’t like: The fact that it ended. There’s a pretty big cliff-hanger at the end and I’m a little stressed out waiting for the next installment.

Overall, this was an amazing addition to an original and captivating story. 5/5

Leave a Reply

