Review: Unmarked by Kami Garcia

UNMARKED-Cover

 

Title: Unmarked (The Legion Book #2) by Kami Garcia

Buy Links: Amazon; Barnes and Noble; iBooks

Rating: 3

When I read the first book in The Legion series I had mixed feelings. I liked it, but I also felt like it had a lot of similarities with the show “Supernatural.” I’m way into the whole demon hunting mythology but parts of the books felt like things I’d seen before. I enjoyed it enough to pick up the second book and see what the what is going on in the Legion world.

Synopsis: This is the second installment in The Legion series. The books picks up shortly after the last one with Kennedy separated from the rest of the groups. When they finally end up reunited we find the fifth member of the Legion and they begin their hunt for the demon they allowed to escape. Naturally, things do not go off at planned and the gang learns more about the world around them.

What I liked: The mythology in the series is very interesting and compelling. Garcia introduced a lot in this next book and though I found myself incredibly confused at times, I was also incredibly interested. I felt like I was trying to unravel the mystery right along with the gang and with each new twist and turn I fell a little further into the story. Not only did the mythological mysteries keep me intrigued, but I love the camaraderie of the gang. Though that their friendship is definitely tested, I still loved their bond.

What I didn’t like: Gosh I felt confused at the end there. The big bad seems to have no weaknesses, we’ve got a new facet with Illuminate and Free Masons that I could barely wrap my mind around, and there was a white dove. It was incredibly difficult to keep track of what was going on at any given time.

Overall this is a fun series for anyone who likes the whole demon hunting thing.

Leave a Reply

