Review: Black Ice by Becca Fitzpatrick

16059938

 

Title: Black Ice, by Becca Fitzpatrick

Buy Links: Amazon, Barnes and Noble, iBooks

Rating: 4/5

So, one of on my resolutions for 2015 has been to actually keep up on my reading list. I have book ADD which means the second I step into a library or a bookstore I can’t help but grab anything that even remotely catches my eye. Needless to say, between ARCS and my addiction I sometimes buy books I don’t read for months. “Black Ice,” was one of those books. I’ve had it since October and I’ve wanted to read it, but it kept getting pushed further back into the que. Well, I’ve been on a break from work and teaching and even though I’m sick I felt determined to start plowing through my list. Hence, this rather late review.

Synopsis: Britt was dumped by her boyfriend Calvin 8 months ago and now she’s going to show him by hiking a 40 mile crest trail. That all seems grande until a storm causes her and her best friend to be taken hostage by two crazed murders. Now Britt has to use her skills to get off the mountain and survive the lunatics. She ends up with a bout of Stockholm Syndrome and begins to learn things about the people she trusted she never thought where possible.

What I liked: I adored Britt’s character. I’ve probably said it a million and one times  here but there’s nothing that I like to see in a book more than a strong female protagonist. That doesn’t mean that girls have to be super strong physically, or have some awesome power but it’s great to see one who is a normal teenager overcoming crazy odds. Though Britt is wrapped up in boy drama throughout most of the book, she also learns a lot about herself and her strengths through the intense circumstances she faces. Speaking of that, holy crap! This book was incredibly suspenseful, just when I thought I had things figured out Fitzpatrick throws a freaking curve ball. All of the life and death situations the characters are in keep the book interesting while also playing towards the plot. Each situation falls into a larger puzzle culminating in an amazing ending. Sure, there are signals that let you know who the bad guy is but I still found myself wondering if Fitzpatrick would really go there and she did.

What I didn’t like: Korbie, Britt’s best friend, felt like a throwaway character and kind of useless to the overall story. I wish she was either more flushed out or just not in the book. There were also points in the book where I felt Britt could have escaped her captors. Towards the end I just didn’t understand why she was so compliant.

Overall, if you like a suspenseful mystery you’ll love this one. I’m a big fan of Becca Fitzpatrick and this is probably my favorite of her books. It has the perfect mix of mystery, adventure, and romance.

Leave a Reply

