Review: Compulsion by Martina Boone

24974-compulsion2bhd

Title: Compulsion by Martina Boone

Buy Links: Amazon, Barnes and Noble, iBooks

Whew, I have been DYING to read this and review it. Literally DYING over it. I think I died while reading it. I’m probably a ghost now. Compulsion was everything I hoped it would be and more. Maybe that sounds cliche but when you build up as much anticipation as I had around this book you really want it to blow you away, and boy did it ever. I spent a Saturday night flying through it. I didn’t sleep till 2am and finished in a total of five hours. I don’t actually think I moved the entire time I read. For some people this is totally par for the course, spending a Saturday night up and reading till the wee hours. Sometimes that’s even my life, but that Saturday it really was not supposed to be what I was doing. I blew off friends and plans and basically hid from the world while I let Martina Boone ensnare me in hers. I live in one of the best cities in the world, with great restaurants and nightlife, but there was no getting me away. I cannot wait to share my review and here other’s thoughts on it.

Synopsis: After her mother dies, Barrie moves into her mothers childhood home with the Aunt she never knew she had as her legal guardian. While at the house she begins to unravel the mystery surrounding Watson’s Island and the three families that founded it. Obviously she meets a boy, his name is Eight and he’s Southern, preppy, and delicious.

What I liked: Is it wrong to say everything? Probably. I’ll start breaking it down piece by piece and only leaving you guys with the highlights. Really, if I didn’t I’d be here all day. Usually, I’m a sucker for language and the development of characters. I studied English in college and have been reading novels since the fourth grade. I’m a huge mechanics nerd and boy did Boone really get me straight in my little nerd heart. She writes in such start, vivid detail that I almost felt like I was reading during the Summer while sitting in my huge plantation home. The setting was almost like another character, which was especially brilliant considering how much the town plays into the actual story. Not only is her setting vivid, but just the general imagery she uses really brings her story to life. I’m not kidding when I say that I was actually a little freaked out by all the ghost stuff, because it felt so real–it was also late at night and raining, but I’m going to attribute this to the language. All of these things were great, they all appealed to my inner nerd. Eight, the handsome boy next-door, appealed to my romantic. Boy did he have all the things I like in a book boyfriend. Hot (check); Southern (check); Smart/Driven (check); a little broody (check). His relationship with Barrie had just enough drama to keep in interesting, but not enough drama to drive me over the crazy edge, which was good considering the general plot line was doing a great job of that. Guy, this plot is AMAZING. There’s a lot happening and a lot that you need to pay attention to, but I did not see the end sneaking up on me the way it did. Speaking of…

What I Didn’t Like: The end! Why? Why? How could you create all those questions and then just leave me hanging. I need to know where the gifts come from, what’s going on with the house, can Barrie ever get out of her deal? I need all of these things and I cannot wait for them.

 

Needless to say, I’m now a HUGE fan of Martina Boone’s and I will be anxiously awaiting her next chapter. Compulsion is my favorite YA of 2014; it had all the elements I love and has me counting down for the next installment 5/5

 

 

 

One thought on “Review: Compulsion by Martina Boone

  1. Pingback: Preview: Persuasion by Martina Boone | THE GOLDEN MANTLE

Leave a Reply

