Review: Suspicion by Alexandra Monir

20527903 

Title: Suspicion, by Alexandra Monir

ReleaseDate: December 8th

Buy Links: Amazon, Barnes and Noble

I was given this ARC in exchange for an honest review.

So, Suspicion has been floating around my Kindle for a second. I was originally enchanted by the cover and decided it would be a good binge read–that was before November and NaNoWriMo hit. Really, people should tell you how much time that whole book writing thing takes. Anyway, when that ended, I decided it was time to begin the book, thinking it would be a nice brain relax from the stress, after all, previous reviews I encountered talked about it like it was Princess Diaries meets Downton Abbey. Those were mostly lies. If you are looking for something that’s just light and fun, turn back. If you love a good thriller set in the English countryside, grab this! It’s amazballs. What Monir does correctly is outstanding, buttt I do have to say if you are looking for some magical mystery tour situation this may not be it. There is magic, but it kind of falls flat. Anyway, on to the review!

Synopsis: Girls privileged family all seem to die tragically over the span of 7 years. Girl escapes to NYC to be brought up by her parent’s best friends. Whoops, girl is a Duchess and has to go back to her tragic (beautiful) estate to claim her title and keep everyone from being kicked to the curb. There’s some Kate Middleton fashion moments (I see that) a hunky British boy from her childhood, ohhh and a murder mystery. Add a little magical backstory and you’ll gobble this YA adventure up.

What I liked: The flow of the book is really good. Every page kept me totally engaged and I didn’t want to stop, which is a problem when you are reading at 11pm and realize you need to be up at 5:30 the next morning. Monir wrote her novel so that in almost every chapter you learned something new making you want to binge read the entire book just to figure our the Who Dun it. Speaking of the mystery, HOLY COW, the ending. I wish I could say more about it other than that it is amazing. We are set up to really question all of the characters and their connection to the main character Imogen and her family, but when the truth is finally reveled it’s very unexpected. Monir takes the who idea of “don’t believe what you think you know,” and turns it on it’s head. I’m usually really good and piecing the mystery together but this one caught me off guard. It also made sense. I hate when authors put in a throw away character just so that you don’t have to hate any of the main ones, but Monir really set up a great situation.

What I didn’t like: I hate to focus on the negatives, I really, really do, but I have to say I HATED the magical back-story of this. I understand the literary purpose of it, but it felt really secondary to the main story when the ending was revealed. Up until I realized that the book was going to center around a murder plot and that our ending would most likely come with it being solved, I really was digging the magical aspects. From the beginning it didn’t feel well thought out, but I assumed that was because the author planned some big surprise at the end; however, with the book ending the way it did, the magic felt secondary and unnecessary.

Overall, I really enjoyed the book. It has a lot of really strong qualities and is a fun, fast-paced read if you like mysteries and a discussion of the English peerage system. I’ve never read any of Monir’s other works but I am excited to add her to my list of writers to watch out for and excited to see if Suspicion will have a sequel. 3.5/5

 
Leave a Reply

